The Biden-Trump Vacuum

Two dead-ends and you still have to choose

John Egelkrout
5 min read4 days ago
Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

This might be the most depressing election I vote in since 1984 when I cast my vote for Walter Mondale after they already announced Ronald Reagan won in a landslide. Back then election results were announced state by state as the polls closed and the ballots were counted. Reagan was already declared the winner. I gave a one-finger salute to the sky and voted anyway. It was an act of defiance if nothing else and gave me the right to complain for the next four years.

I am always a sucker for politics, and even though I told myself not to watch the Biden-Trump debate, I went against my better judgment and watched it anyway. It was worse than even I thought it would be, and that is pretty bad.

Biden’s performance

If there was any question about Biden’s age being a factor in his ability to execute his duties as president, last night’s godawful performance erased it. For all of the presidential debates I have watched in my life, this is the first time I actually felt sorry for one of the people participating.

Biden looked old and frail, like someone should probably take him home and put him to bed. His voice lacked energy, and at times it was barely audible. There was little expression in it when he was making a point, even…

--

--

John Egelkrout

I am a sanity-curious former teacher who works a small organic farm with my wife. I write about politics, social issues, memoirs, and a variety of other topics.