Takeaways from the Third GOP Debate

I feel like I am in high school again

John Egelkrout
5 min readNov 9, 2023
Photo by Bank Phrom on Unsplash

When I was in high school, I was on the newspaper staff. Our paper, Hatchet Highlights, came out once a week and covered most of the events at our school. There were news clips about upcoming dances, sports news, and all the usual stuff you might find in a high school newspaper.

One of my least favorite topics to cover was junior varsity anything. No one cared how the JV was doing except the kids who were on the team, the parents of the kids on the team, and maybe the coach. These were the stories I didn’t really want to write because I knew no one was going to read them

That is a little how I feel writing about the third GOP debate. In the political world, this clearly was a junior varsity event. I’m almost embarrassed to admit I watched any of it.

With only five candidates remaining, those on the stage were nearing the “put-up-or-shut-up” stage of the election cycle and if they hoped to continue on this impossible quest, they needed to break away from the pack.

None of them did.

In looking over the field, it is interesting to note that of the six candidates for the GOP nomination (I’m including Trump here), two of them are from Florida, two of them are from next door in South Carolina, one is…

--

--

John Egelkrout

I am a sanity-curious former teacher who writes about politics, social issues, memoirs, and a variety of other topics.